Personal Injury

You were involved in a car crash. You have a lot to deal with now and do not know what to do next.  Fortunately, there is guidance and counsel you can receive to help you through this situation.  Below are some of the most frequently asked questions and the answers to them.

My car is damaged.  Who fixes that?

I will review your auto policy to determine what type of property damage coverage you have in place.  I will also review the other driver’s auto policy to see what kind of coverage they have for incidents like this.  I know what to look for and what the insurance company is responsible for repairing or replacing.  Let’s get you driving again as soon as possible.

My body hurts.  Who fixes me?

I know the local doctors and who to refer you to for treatment.  Whether it is your neck, back, rib, leg, or any other area of the body, I know someone in town who specializes in treating that type of injury.  We will get you the professional medical care that you need as quickly as possible.

Something to be aware of is that every Florida auto insurance policy carries coverage for injuries caused by a car accident.  To activate that coverage, you must be examined by a medical professional within 14 calendar days from the date of the accident, according to Florida Statute 627.736.  That is a reason why you need to act quickly after a car accident.

My insurance company does not explain things clearly.  Who can explain things to me?

I will explain the law to you in ways that are easy to understand. Here is how it works.  In Florida, if you drive a vehicle, then you must have an insurance policy on that vehicle.  All policies in Florida carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage in the amount of $10,000 for bodily injury pursuant to Fla. Stat. 627.736. Here is an example of why you should hire an attorney to help you navigate this process:

Concerning the $10,000 mentioned above, the insurance company only pays 80 cents of each dollar of medical costs.  When all of those 80 cents are added together and reach a total of $10,000 then the coverage is exhausted ($12,500 x 0.80 = $10,000).  Sounds good, but what about the remaining 20 cents from each of those dollars?  Did they add up, too?  Yes, they did.  They total $2,500 and the insurance company does not have to pay for that according to the PIP coverage ($12,500 x 0.20 = $2,500).  You pay for it.

If you are like most people, then when the insurance company told you that you have $10,000 of coverage, you probably thought the insurance company will pay all 100 cents of every dollar up until the bills reach $10,000.  Who would expect them to only pay 80 cents of each dollar and leave you holding the bag for the remaining 20 cents?  As you can see, there are all sorts of sneaky tactics that insurance companies have in place for paying out claims.  That is only one of them and we are just getting started.  YOU NEED AN ATTORNEY.

Regain Control of the Situation

  • Property Damage
  • Bodily Injury
  • Insurance Coverage

Contact Us About Your Case